Trim Castle, the largest Anglo-Norman castle in Ireland, was constructed over a thirty year period by Hugh de Lacy and his son Walter. Hugh de Lacy was granted the Liberty of Meath by King Henry II in 1172 in an attempt to curb the expansionist policies of Richard de Clare, (Strongbow). Construction of the massive three storied Keep, the central stronghold of the castle, was begun c 1175 on the site of an earlier wooden fortress. This massive twenty-sided tower, which is cruciform in shape, was protected by a ditch, curtain wall and moat.
Please note that this is a very busy site and visitors may experience a delay during the summer months. Access cannot be guaranteed. Please arrive early to avoid disappointment.
Access for visitors with disabilities is very restricted. Please note that some of the stairs in the Keep are very steep and narrow. The Keep is not accessible for visitors with disabilities and these is restricted access to the grounds only. There are interpretation panels in the grounds of the castle which allow for self-guiding.